WARSAW — A group of 12 people including county and local business and agricultural officials has been appointed to the ReStart Wyoming County Task Force.

The appointments were announced Friday by Chairman Jerry Davis of the Wyoming County Board of Supervisors. The members are already developing a plan as the county continues its response to the COVID-19 pandemic and starts the transition to a long-term recovery.

“I am pleased to appoint Scott Gardner as Task Force Chair and announce the individuals who will be serving together for the people of Wyoming County,” Davis said in a news release. “As we move from the emergency management and shutdown phase of the pandemic to the reopening and restarting of our local economy, we needed to adjust our strategy. The ReStart Wyoming County Task Force will work as a coordinating group and ‘control room’ at the local level to navigate, plan, inform and advocate for Wyoming County’s recovery.”

Gardner is president of the Wyoming County Chamber of Commerce & Tourism. Besides he and Davis, the task force includes:

• Supervisor Michael Roche of Eagle.

• Supervisor Dan Leuer of Middlebury.

• Supervisor Becky Ryan of Warsaw, who is also vice chair of the Board of Supervisors.

• Jim Pierce, Executive Director of the Wyoming County IDA, and President of the Wyoming County Business Center.

• Executive Director Rosemary Shader of Community Action for Wyoming County.

• Joan Petzen, Agriculture Department program leader for the Cornell Cooperative Extension of Wyoming County.

• Director Steve Perkins of the county’s Department of Health.

• Director Brian Meyers of the county’s Fire and Emergency Management department.

• Code Enforcement Officer Don Roberts of the county’s Planning and Codes department.

• Director Bill Daly of the county’s Planning and Development branch.

“Thank you to Chairman Davis for the opportunity to serve on the Task Force, I look forward to working on behalf of the citizens of Wyoming County,” Gardner said. “We will be looking at several initiatives including the drafting of a recovery plan; seeking new ways of keeping our community informed; listening to representatives of different community sectors; and advocating for the best options for the county’s socio-economic recovery.”

Like the rest of the region, Wyoming County remains in Phase 1 of the state’s four-phase reopening plan.

Individuals and businesses are encouraged to contact the Wyoming County Response Line at (585) 786-8911 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays for information and guidance. They may also email oem@wyomingco.net or visit www.wyomingco.net.

Business resources and more can also be found at www.wycochamber.org.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1