Challengers win two seats in Bergen

Mark Gutman/Daily NewsShirley Robinson votes at the Bergen Town Hall in Bergen on Tuesday afternoon.

BERGEN — The only contested race in Genesee County during Tuesday’s village elections was in Bergen and two new faces earned seats as village trustees for four years.

Of the three candidates in the running, each for a four-year term, Republican Joseph Chimino earned 129 votes Tuesday night. The other trustee seat went to Republican Paul Robinson with 107 votes. Incumbent Democrat Vickie Almquist earned 45 votes.

In Corfu, trustee incumbents Lawrence Reisdorf and Kenneth Lauer, both running on the Republican and Democratic lines, were elected to two-year terms. Their vote totals were not available Tuesday night.

In Elba, Republican incumbent Thomas Stempin got 26 votes. He was running unopposed for a four-year term as trustee.

Albion featured three candidates, none of whom was an incumbent, running for two trustee seats for four-year terms. Christopher Barry led with 54 votes, Kevin Sheehan had 51 and Maurice Taylor 17.

Medina’s mayor, Mike Sidari, won another two-year term, earning 104 votes. Challenger Mary Hare earned 59. Marguerite Sherman and Timothy Elliot retained their seats as village trustees, also for two-year terms. Sherman won 124 votes and Elliott 118. Charles Hartway collected 56, Tim Hungerford 2 and Peter Huth 2.

In Arcade, Republican Elwyn Roll, running unopposed to fill a one-year unexpired trustee term, received 33 votes.

In Attica, two trustee positions were up for election with three candidates running. Incumbent Republican Matthew Sage received 128 and challenger Democratic and New Attica parties candidate Gary Guralny also got 128. They each won election to a two-year term. Incumbent Republican Sandra Prusak received 119 votes, There were three write-in candidates. Bill Lepsch received 7 votes and Mitchell Oak and Ann Lapp each received 1.

In Castile, incumbent Republicans Dennis Miller and Dave Reed, running unopposed for two, two-year trustee positions, got 21 and 19 votes, respectively.

In Silver Springs, 71 ballots were cast as four people sought two trustee positions for two-year terms. Incumbent Democrat Raymond King received 47 votes, Democrat Ann Bookmiller had 45 and Republicans Sara Mattingly and David Tallman got 24 and 20, respectively.

For village justice, incumbent John Proper got 68 votes. He ran on the Republican and Democratic lines. and will serve a two-year term.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1